Keeping the Thanksgiving Holiday Alive

More and more stores are opening on Thanksgiving rather than Black Friday. More and more people are making it a day to shop instead of having dinner with family. While it’s true that there are many police officers, firefighters, nurses, convenience store workers, waitresses, etc that have to work on Thanksgiving, there is just something different about retail stores adding to the list of things that will be open. The former group of people have the ultimate service jobs and deal with people in need. Greedy shoppers lining up all day, becoming violent, fighting over limited products, and bringing anger to a Holiday are not in need of anything.

Of course shopping early and shopping for deals is a personal choice, but I believe that Black Friday should stay on Friday. Opening at midnight is just fine, but opening at 6 o clock is upsetting. And this is coming from someone who absolutely loves Christmas. I decorate my bedroom, listen to Christmas music constantly, and get so caught up in the season. But I like to take things one holiday at a time. That is why Black Friday always made so much sense. It was after the previous holiday ended, not during it.

Thanksgiving is always one of my favorite holidays. I love the parade, I love helping in the kitchen, I love the food and football, and I love the quality time with family. While traditions have been changing with me being in a relationship the third thanksgiving in a row, my sister being married, and my brother being engaged, it is still a day spent with some family.

I am probably way too naïve for my age thinking that Thanksgiving is still a holiday filled with thanks and family. It has been such a fantastic year that I have a lot to be thankful for and want that to be what this upcoming holiday is about. And at the same time, Christmas is still a magical holiday. But that is also changing.

I am a fan of helping people in need on holidays, but to me, angry people looking for deals on gifts are not in need. And if you are lucky enough to have a loving family, you should spend the day with them being thankful.

Leave a comment